Review: Tracking Your Online Purchases with Slice

Let’s get this out of the way first and foremost, this is an unsolicited, unpaid review. I just found something new to love and wanted to share to see if helped anyone else!

Here’s the story –

A message board I visit was lamenting that they wanted a website/app like Trip It but for online purchases. Everything all in one place, you can track what is pending, tracking numbers, what has been received, what was spent where and it is all automatic with automatic scanning of your email. Trip It exists (and I am utterly in love with it but that is a review for another day) so why can’t something like this exist? Turns out it does! And I had no idea. It’s called Slice and just like Trip It comes in an Apple app, a Google app and a website. And just like Trip It I am sure I will use this more on my phone or iPad than on the web so I am just reviewing the Apple app, though the website works beautifully as well!

Yes these are actual screenshots of my phone with my orders. I have bought things since the order displayed, oh don’t worry about that, but I wanted to show what this app is fully capable of and this is the last thing I bought with full tracking.

Review - App - Slice

Review - App - Slice

Review - App - Slice

Review - App - Slice

You can click directly to an image of the email you received from each item within the app. And it allows you to manually add any order you need if it doesn’t scan automatically. Conversely you can delete online orders that are incomplete or are not needed like my Jimmy John’s online orders.

It will also display the total amount of money you have spent, where you have spent it and how many orders you have. Frankly that part is depressing even if the orders go back to to when I first started keeping email receipts in 2008. Regardless you can keep very careful track of online purchases as well as money spent.

I haven’t used this app live yet, just played with past purchases, but it works phenomenally well and I can’t recommend it enough. Heck I am going to order something somewhere just to see it in action (ok, not really I have to place an order with Old Navy for a few things that are unrelated but still…). IMO you need a wesbite/app like this in your life. Trust me on this.

4 thoughts on “Review: Tracking Your Online Purchases with Slice

  1. Mia says:

    Oh, this is kinda neat. I use Mint.com for tracking purchases and setting budget suggestions for myself, but this looks a little more detailed, and I don’t know if Mint has an app version.

    Like

  2. Jane says:

    Pretty cool. Weirds me out in that scans my emails. But I see the potential none-the-less. I’m a big fan of “Things” which is a productivity app & I’ve set up a section within things to keep track of purchases. I’s a bit cumbersome my system, but it works for me now. Keyword now.

    Like

    • This came up in topic and while my system (leaving emails in my box until I got whatever I ordered) works I am always willing to try something new. And Slice works well. Though I see your point about the scanning!

      Like

Comments are closed.