Weekend in Kansas City

I mentioned it last week but Saturday we headed down to KC for a little BBQ, shopping and a Red Hot Chili Peppers concert. I came back sure of one thing: I am too damn old for a rock concert. This will NEVER stop me in the future but damn I woke up feeling like I had a hangover! Beer was $7 a bottle and I’m cheap so I didn’t drink enough to get a hangover. Nevermind the additional hearing & voice loss.

So we were asked this at the concert by people around us, why drive to KC for a band that was going to be in Omaha the very next night? We got floor seats (14th row, almost center I might add) for the same price as the 2nd tier nose bleeds in Omaha. It was a no brainer. Besides I could shopping and get my favorite BBQ.

We ran a few errands early Saturday morning than packed up and drove the 3 hours to KC. First stop was Oklahoma Joe’s BBQ. I have eaten here before, I have also eaten at Gates and Arthur Bryant’s (both considered the best in KC for a very long time). OK Joe’s is better than both. A lot better. I will stake my (admittedly small) reputation on this. I made it a point to go to the Olathe location as I wanted to hit the Kansas City BBQ store as well and stock up on sauce and seasonings. Brad brought back a bottle of the hottest hot sauce – 337,000 Scoville units of heat: Grinders – to give to a co-worker who loves hot sauce. It was a huge hit. And I just heard that the co-worker’s brother-in-law decided to try some (after being fully and thoroughly warned) and he ended up going to the ER over it. Yup.

From there it was time to check into our hotel which was a bit south of Crown Center and about a mile or so south of The Power & Light District (where the Sprint Center – and the concert – is/was). We decided to take a dip in the hot tub & pool, got dressed and headed downtown.

Red Hot Chili Peppers Concert

See? Our seats were fabulous and we had so much fun! Like all concerts I think I took about 100 photos and 4 turned out decent. I’m surprised I got 4 as I thought for sure I had none! Tricky lighting. But they do know how to put on an entertaining show! The husband did say this was the best birthday present ever for him.

All the beer and no dinner (unless you call a bag of kettle corn popcorn dinner) made me feel sick to my stomach so we stopped at McDonald’s before heading back to the hotel. As it turns out this was a ghetto McDonald’s and some of the worst food I have ever had. Yuck.

The next morning breakfast was at the hotel. I wanted one last swim but felt just awful and couldn’t go through with it. We checked out and then headed to Country Club Plaza for some shopping. It’s an open air mall that is just beautiful! It reminded me of an old nondescript Italian/Spanish village. Every building was different with lots of ornate detailing and fabulous designer shops. We hung out on a porch at Starbuck’s, warm drinks in hand, waiting for stores to open.

Kansas City Country Club Plaza

And once they did I hit a few of my favorites (Kate Spade, Michael Kors, Restoration Hardware). I would have done more but shopping is not Brad’s thing and he was hanging around the fountains reading online on his phone which gets old quickly.

Kansas City Fountains

Speaking of the City of Fountains (KC has more than other city outside of Rome, and yes there are lots and lots), check out the one there on the top left. Yes, that is water spitting from the mouth of a frog onto a cherub’s (child’s?) junk. Definitely not the other way around. Um. Why?!

Anyhow we gassed up after that at a 7-11 (oh how I wish I could get a Slurpee’s in Omaha!) and headed home right on schedule. Altogether a fantastic weekend that we must do again soon!

