My Week in Photos: Las Vegas Wedding Edition

Day 4 – Thursday May 24, 2012

For us there was one purpose to this day – the Grand Canyon. Some stayed back in Vegas and did their own thing (Luxor, etc) but most of the family went to the Grand Canyon this day, with our tour company or others. We all happened to cross paths during the journey though.

At some point during planning it was decided that the South Rim – and a 14 hour bus ride round trip – was a good idea. Yeah. Don’t do it. If someone suggests this to you don’t do it. I don’t regret going as I saw 2 of the most popular and scenic points of the Grand Canyon and I strongly doubt I will ever go back but I would NEVER recommend it. Not unless you drive and are staying the night. It was just too long of a day in cramped quarters. And Brad and I are too tall for buses. It was terrible. At least I finally saw the Grand Canyon though!!

So our trip began at 6:15 am when we got picked up by the shuttle who took us to the bus transfer point. We checked in, got breakfast and got settled on the bus for the trip leaving Vegas about 7:00 to 7:15 am. We arrived at Grand Depot Cafe about 11 am or so and had a buffet lunch.

Grand Depot Cafe - Williams, AZ

Grand Depot Cafe - Williams, AZ

From there it was about an hour before we were standing at Mather Point.

Grand Canyon - Mather Point

Grand Canyon - Mather Point

Grand Canyon - Mather Point

Grand Canyon - Mather Point

Of course I took some video while there:

We walked around Mather for an hour, visiting the Visitor’s Center, etc.

Grand Canyon Visitors Center

Befriended a squirrel…

Grand Canyon - Mather Point

Then it was off to Bright Angel Lodge and that incredible view for an hour.

Grand Canyon - Bright Angel

Grand Canyon - Bright Angel

Grand Canyon - Bright Angel

Even acquired a most curious snack – which was fabulous.

Grand Canyon Prickly Pear Licorice

By 3 pm we were back on the bus and headed back to Vegas. We did get a glimpse of Hoover Dam on the way back though I will NEVER go there. I get claustrophobic.

Hoover Dam

Once arriving in Vegas we made our way back to the condo where Brad and I threw our stuff together and treked our way to Paris to stay for the next 2 nights. Oh I loved Paris. Loved it! Of course we dropped that we were getting married when checking in and we got a free room upgrade (it really does work!) and while we didn’t have a front view of Bellagio (just this tiny sliver between Paris & Bally’s) it was still a lovely room (and yes all of these were taken the next day in sunlight instead of at 9/10 pm which is when we checked in)!

View from our room at Paris Las Vegas

Paris Las Vegas

Paris Las Vegas

Paris Las Vegas

And for the first time in my life we ordered room service. We were starving but exhausted after our long day and did not want to source out a place to eat that required clothing. Normally we are both way too cheap to order room service ($5-$10 charge for over priced bland food plus a tip). It’s hardly worth it in my book. But it was good and I’m glad to have that checked off my bucket list in the sky.

Paris Las Vegas

From there sleep in one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on in my life.

