Friend Friday: Outfit Planning

I’m kinda of a lazy outfit planner. Only kinda!

1. How do you go about picking your outfit for the day?

I start with what I may have to do that day, followed by the weather then ultimately what shape I want for the day (i.e. skirt or pants, shorts or a dress). I’d rather not flash my underwear on a windy day! And finally I go with items I may want to wear (i.e. new items or items I haven’t worn in a very long time) first and fill in the details.

2. Do you try stuff on and then take pics to see how it looks, like Cher in Clueless?

Sometimes. I have taken photos in which I don’t look my best. Those outfits get tossed and/or tweaked until it actually looks decent. Sometimes I do this just by looking in the mirror carefully before proceeding to whatever the next item I want to add is.

I have also taken photos of ideas I have to file away for my outfit list.

3. And are you consistent in your planning or lack thereof, or is your planning limited to special events?

Pretty consistent in my lack of planning for everyday outfits! I have zero problem wearing the same outfit 3 days in a row. And oh yes, I most certainly have!

I definitely over plan special events though. I have been planning – and tweaking – my wedding day outfit for the last year. I think I bought 5 different pairs of shoes before finally getting this last pair. I still don’t have hair “glitter” yet. I keep changing my mind!

And when I travel I plan each outfit down to accessories with the day and activities planned for that day in mind. I tend to also pack 1 or 2 extra outfits just in case I’m not feeling something I packed or something spills on me, etc.

4. Do you have a way of keeping track of which outfits you wore when?

Nope. Since I post photos here I have kept track that way but nothing stops me from wearing what I want, when I want. No one really remembers an exact outfit I have worn before.

5. How do you come up with new clothing combinations?

Usually just before bed – or when I am feeling it – I will sit with Evernote open on my iPad (or a plain notebook before I got the iPad) and just write down the combinations that come to me. I use Evernote as it can be updated on my iPad, my iPhone and the computer. I can also copy and paste into and out of the app.

Evernote Outfit Inventory

I can’t say I don’t repeat a few things here and there or have slight variations. But if I am ever stuck on what to wear I flip this open and see if anything strikes my fancy.

You will notice one of the notes from up above refers to my Las Vegas Outfits – these are my travel outfits for when I’m there. I keep tweaking it but it will be hot so I want to make sure I don’t bring too much clothing in general. And there is also a list of all my items in my closet.

OVER PLANNER!!

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

2 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Outfit Planning

    • I will check before taking pics of an outfit to see if I posted it recently and occasionally I end up wearing a repeat on accident. It doesn’t mean I change (sometimes an item shift or two makes it a different outfit) just no photos that day. Oh well. And yes Evernote is awesome for so much more than how I use it. I’ve been writing a novel using it too. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.