Daily Outfit: Cake Flowers in Bloom

I have thought about being a pastry chef since I was a kid. I make fantastic cake and buttercream frosting. Extremely fantastic tasting so I’ve been told. And fantastic pies. My cheesecake is to die for. And I make a lot of quick breads that also sit in that “om nom nom” arena. And I enjoy doing it. My one issue is decorating. I’ve never been much of a decorator and when we are talking food that’s an issue. I need to practice. Plain and simple.

So with this on my mind I headed out to a local only party/crafting store (Mangelsen’s) that has a terrific selection of cake decorating tools and items. I picked a few things up. And then put them back. In the end I couldn’t decide if this was my real interest and I would actually practice working with frosting or if this was just another passing hobby. I go through them like water. Very few, aside from collecting, ever stick longer than a few weeks. So I bought nothing.

And I end up sitting here wanting to bake a cake and trying to decide how best to get started with decorating and if it holds any future, even just for personal baking, for me. Sigh.

Incidentally I decided to wear this “kimono” because of the lovely warm spring weather we are having. It’s beautiful! And sheer is in this season. 😀

03.27.2012a

03.27.2012b

Pink plain sleeveless: Target (April 2011)
Floral Kimono top: Torrid (April 2011)
Skinny/Slim leg dark wash jeans: Lane Bryant (March 2011)
Silver beaded circle black leather flip flops: Torrid (July 2011)
Gray chiffon flower earrings: Evans UK (Feb 2011)
Swallow silver necklace: Thrifted (June 2011)

