Daily Outfit: Sandal Troubles

So the other night I’m cruising along on Pinterest, minding my own business, and I saw a pin of this. Go ahead and click it I’ll wait. Did you click it? I hope so otherwise what I say next may not have much meaning. The Dowager Countess kicks ass!

I am a HUGE Downton Abbey fan. Of course if you have read my blog for any length of time you know that already. The Dowager Countess – Violet – is by far my favorite character on the show. As such I definitely purchased the cross stitch pattern and I am getting ready to start on it tonight. It’s a simple easy one so it shouldn’t take long.

Aside from that I got some beautiful leather sandals in the mail from Zappo’s…and they don’t fit! I am so sad! And it’s not even a matter of the strap not being long enough (I would totally take it to the cobbler if that was the case). Nope. The footbed is too short and it’s the largest size they have. Le sigh. And this is the SECOND pair I have had trouble with in a row. The previous pair is sitting in my living room – a pair of Dansko sandals. My mother is buying them off me instead since they should fit her. I hate having huge feet. Absolutely hate it!

Why the sandal shopping? I am trying to find a good decent pair of sandals that is supportive so I can wear them while walking all over the place this summer. They can’t be too casual but not too dressy either – versatile. I’m really trying to find strappy leather ones and so far it’s been a bust. I do not like Birkenstock’s, Dansko’s aren’t made in my size, Merrell’s aren’t either (size 12, sometimes 13 for reference) and right now a pair of Chaco’s might be winning the replacement race. Any other suggestions?

02.21.2012a

Long sleeve purple tee: Just My Size (October 2011)
Skinny/Slim leg dark wash jeans: Lane Bryant (March 2011)
Black sweater coat cardigan: Marshall’s (February 2012)
Criss-cross Black studded pumps: Avenue (Aug 2010)
Green pashmina: Amazon (January 2012)
Large brass chandelier ethnic earrings: Payless (June 2011)
1910s Edwardian green rhinestone brooch: Thrifted/Second Chance (October 2011)

02.21.2012b

The scarf was covering this up on all my long shots so I had to let it shin on its own. Beautiful!

02.21.2012c

