DIY: Glitter Shoe Soles

I spotted the idea for this on Pinterest. A little Googling later and I had a project to try.

I am thinking about doing this to my wedding shoes though I wanted to try it on a not worn very often pair first. I still haven’t done it to my actual wedding shoes and I can’t decide whether to go through with it or not. Mostly because they have leather soles and were rather expensive! At any rate this is beautiful, a lot of fun and super easy!

DIY Glitter Shoe Soles

Cool right? So here’s how you do it:

DIY Glitter Shoe Soles

Modge Podge
Glitter in your choice of color
a paper plate or other disposable mixing tray
foam paint brush

DIY Glitter Shoe Soles

Mix together a healthy amount of glitter and Modge Podge. 2 to 1 seems to do it but I just eyeballed the amount I would need.

DIY Glitter Shoe Soles

Paint it on the bottom of the – CLEANED – shoes. You could tape the perimeter but mine had a nice edge and I have a steady hand. I painted on 3 layers letting dry between each about 30 minutes to an hour. I sprinkled extra glitter on the soles with the last layer and let it dry for at least an hour. Then I covered both soles with a layer of clear Modge Podge to seal it all in.

DIY Glitter Shoe Soles

It worked beautifully except it obviously wore away after wearing them once. Should I do it again I would skip the entire ball of the foot and anywhere else that touches the ground. But it does give that interesting little glitter peek on the bottom!

3 thoughts on “DIY: Glitter Shoe Soles

  1. good on you for trying it- it’s super fun! I’ve seen the same but with just the heel covered it glitter… gives a bit more glitter visually, and might last a bit longer? Regardless, it’s fun!

    Like

Comments are closed.