Daily Outfit: Date Shoes & Asymmetrical Cardigans

I think in a few weeks I may do a 30 For 30 or similar type of challenge. I have a lot of clothes. More than I probably need and certainly more than I actually wear. And my cleaning of the closet showed me that I have a lot I need to either wear already or pass along to someone who wants to wear it instead. And to top it off I really can’t spend money right now. Really no. Las Vegas and a wedding calls so I need to save it for then. And I’m ever so slightly bored with my closet. So maybe it would help. I just know some kind of challenge forcing me to explore my closet more deeply will help.

At any rate I LOVE this asymmetrical cardigan. It has a snap in the shoulder so I can wear it both up…

01.09.2012a

…or down. And it looks great either way. Though with it up that is a whole lot of blue going on. Maybe a belt or scarf or something to break it up next time. I like this simple outfit though.

01.09.2012b

Plain Black long-line tank: Target (July 2011)
Blue asymmetrical t-shirt cardigan: Avenue (December 2011)
Skinny/Slim leg dark wash jeans: Lane Bryant (March 2011)
Black hidden wedge ankle strap “flats”: Payless (September 2007)
Multichain flower/sun burst offset crystal charm chocker: Torrid (2009 – though I can’t remember when exactly)

01.09.2012c

I told the mister a secret about these shoes the other day so now I’m going to share – way too much – here as well. I used to call these my date shoes when I was single. Not because they were fabulous or versatile or simple but because it seriously takes me like 15 or 20 minutes to put them on! Underneath my jeans is a shoe with an ankle strap similar to a mary jane. Except this ankle strap is difficult as hell to get into the buckle. Seriously! I have no idea why but I just can’t get it to do it. And if my ankles are swollen at all forget it. And while they are certainly comfortable to wear for awhile, and walk around in, the hidden wedge would strain my feet and start me hobbling if I had them on too long.

So I’d wear these on dates to ensure that nothing would happen! 😀 He called them chastity shoes, but yeah they were. And they worked perfectly I might add. Just remembering that it would take me an awkward 20 minutes of putting on shoes in front of someone if I took them off for any reason, even just to relax or get comfortable, insured that I never went home with anyone or had any one at my home. They were a nice reminder.

Consequently because they are so difficult to get on and off I don’t wear them much though I actually like how they look and I like how they feel.

01.09.2012d

2 thoughts on “Daily Outfit: Date Shoes & Asymmetrical Cardigans

Comments are closed.