Friend Friday: Halloween

Do you have plans for Halloween? What will you dress up as this year?

No plans to dress up, no plans for the night of.

Sad!

Maybe I can talk the fiance into going to a haunted house. Three years ago our second date was to a haunted house. It was utterly perfect as we were still in that “do I touch or not touch” phase and brushing his hand and grabbing it from time to time in the dark labyrinth maze was AWESOME! 😉

Where do you go for costume and makeup inspiration?

I hate to say this but I still do it the same way I did as a kid – it’s weather dependent. I grew up in the mountains outside Denver and it freaking snows in October there! Matter of fact it’s nice and deep there right now. And they never cancelled the holiday or had a “rain day” so you learned how to build your outfit around your warm clothes. Many a year, let me tell you. But living there until I was 14 ingrained it in me so deep I still do it that way.

Aside from that we have a fantastic local hobby/craft/art store that does a fabulous job with their Halloween items. Going there is usually inspiration enough!

What was the best costume you’ve ever donned?

This one:

Halloween 1987

Forgive the quality. Its a photo of a scrapbook page which is a scan (and slightly larger print) of an original photo from 1987 all taken in low light. So basically a couple copies from a bad original. I’m on the left my sister is on the right. It was one year when it was really super warm (no coat warm). And for Halloween that’s rare. I have always loved this costume!

What’s the most creative costume you’ve ever seen?

I love funny ones. Like a nudist on strike or Oz from Buffy The Vampire Slayer when he stuck a “Hello my name is God” sticker on his chest. But I also really like the ones that involve a lot of props or a lot of work – stormtroopers, Darth Vader, Gandalf, any anime character under the sun, cosplay in almost any form I would guess. Cosplay fascinates me. That people would go to this much work just to recreate a character is just amazeballs!

No holds barred if you could dress up as anything, what would it be?

I dunno actually. Probably something from an Anime as their costumes are fantastic and difficult but amazing when pulled off correctly!! Probably one of my favorites like Bleach or Naruto.

FUN FACT!

I got married on Halloween in 2004 as it is my favorite holiday. Divorce has long been done with but I don’t hate the holiday. Still one of my favorites matter of fact! But I am reminded of what it once was every year. I should have thought of that. Oh and if you thinking of getting married on Halloween I say DON’T DO IT! It was a NIGHTMARE trying to get married that day. Nevermind not having anyone show – I couldn’t find a soul to marry us. Finally it worked out but it was way too much work…and churches usually (note the word USUALLY) won’t allow it.

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

