Joslyn Art Museum

Couple weeks ago I told y’all about going to Joslyn Art Museum – and promising to take photos. Well I certainly did! It took me awhile to decide what to include in this post. I finally did but for the ones I left out check out my Flickr album. There are lots more.

It’s an amazing and beautiful building and I love going. All of these pieces are owned by Joslyn but some like to travel so I know others may have seen these up close as well.

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Dale Chihuly’s Chihuly: Inside and Out (2000)

Beautiful right? Oh yeah. Love Chihuly!

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Paolo Veronese’s Venus with a Mirror (Venus at Her Toilette) (approx. 1582)

I studied this in college. Gives me a thrill!

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Jean-Léon Gérôme’s The Grief of the Pasha (1882)

I adore this one! It’s so powerful, sad. And the brushwork is fantastic.

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Jackson Pollock’s Galaxy (1947)

My first Pollock and still my favorite. I love this piece!

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

William Adolphe Bouguereau’s Return of Spring (Le Printemps) (1886)

This is so very vibrant in real life. Another one I studied in college. Another one that gives me chills. And it’s freaking huge!! Joslyn’s website says 84½ x 50 inches!

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Edgar Degas’ Little Dancer, Fourteen Years Old (La Petite Danseuse de quatorze ans) (1881)

This is the plaster cast of the original wax and from which the bronze sculptures were cast. It’s probably my favorite piece in the entire museum and I know I’m not alone with that.

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Mary Cassatt’s Lydia Reading the Morning Paper (No. 1) (Woman Reading) (Femme lisant) (Portrait of Lydia Cassatt, the Artist’s Sister) (1878–79)

Gotta love the impressionists – and Cassatt is by no means the only one that the museum has, just one of my favorites!

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Grant Wood’s Stone City, Iowa (1930)

We love us some Grant Wood around here. Several pieces are owned locally, big shock right? It’s kinda like in Des Moines…he’s a “hometown” favorite here too.

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

Charles M Russell’s Round-up on the Musselshell (1919)

My grandfather really loved Russell. He also really loved cowboys and horses so there ya go.

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

The central courtyard fountain. An amazing art deco piece.

Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha, Nebraska

The exterior

