Everybody Everywear: My Protest to Plus Size Retailers

Dear Plus Size Retailers & Designers (and everyone else),

I know I am a thick plus size chick. Trust me. I know this. I do have to buy my clothes and when I buy online I have to buy using my measurements. I get it. I also get that I’m tall and need a rather long inseam. I get it. What I don’t get is why Plus Size clothes are so far behind trend sometimes.

I had the dough and the inclination to buy colored pants* for this challenge but couldn’t find any. There are leggings and athletic pants, sure. But no pants, no jeans, no actual bottoms. I take that back I found one pair at Fashion Bug but they are a couple inches too short. I could work with that except I found them too late to order online (for this challenge) and they didn’t have them in store. But otherwise I checked all my familiar haunts (both online and in store where possible) – I had barely enough time to get something shipped to me:

Go ahead click on them. Do you see any colored pants*? Nope. None of those.

Of all my retailers only Forever 21 had some – all of which are about 5 or 6 inches too short. And Avenue had a few but no colored denim and nothing in pink or purple or teal or any other amazing color. And nearly all of their colored choices are capris. I don’t need any more capris. Especially in September. I wanted colored pants that are actually pants, like to I could wear them this fall.

Apparently this is too much to ask.

So Plus Size designers and manufacturer’s why are Plus Sizes so far behind on trends? Yes, we catch up about a season or 2 late. And it’s gotten better over the years, we used to be a full year behind, but what gives?

Signed,

A disgusted patron who was just looking for some trendy pants

PS
I’ll get over it. It’s cool. I’m just frustrated as this was one thing I actually wanted to buy right now. I will wait. It’s not like I have a choice I am built like I am. But please catch up on trends!! I’m sick of having to wait!

*just to clarify when I say “colored pants” I am talking about anything outside the realm of black, tan, white or olive preferably something orange, green, pink, blue or purple since those are hot!

Colored Pants | Everybody, Everywear

2 thoughts on “Everybody Everywear: My Protest to Plus Size Retailers

    • Yes but it’s a new to me online store and I haven’t hit the submit button on them yet. Mostly because with the carpal tunnel surgery (right hand is next month) I will have trouble with buttons for awhile and I can’t decide if they are worth it.

      Like

Comments are closed.