Visual Friend Friday: An Outfit for a Song – “If I Die Young”

An outfit based on a favorite song

First the song – “IF I Die Young” by The Band Perry

Definitely a current favorite of mine – morbid theme and all. Satin, pearls, roses are all mentioned in the lyrics not to mention the topic of death all of which say “formal” to me. Oh and I hadn’t gotten a chance to wear this new skirt (which I got for $12! Steal!). So this is what I came up with:

09.08.2011c

Champagne colored short sleeve button down: Thrifted (August 2011)
Teal cardigan: Lane Bryant (Aug 2010)
Floral “Monet” A-line skirt: Lane Bryant (August 2011)
Black bow pumps: Payless (February 2007)
Large gem beaded multi-strand necklace on cord: Evans UK (April 2011)
Teardrop Earrings: Evans UK (Feb 2011)

09.08.2011a

What do you think? The button down shirt was thrifted with sleeves and ugly gold buttons. I cut the sleeves off, hemmed them, and swapped the buttons out for shell buttons. Looks very nice if I do say so myself.

It’s funny I can remember buying these shoes for my stepfather’s mother’s funeral and my feet were killing me by the time it was over with and I was sitting! I never wear them as I always think back to that funeral. Turns out my feet just weren’t used to this height which they are now. Easy peasy. Guess I will have to pull them out more often!

To learn more about Friend Friday visit Modly Chic and to check out other participants in the “Favorite Song Outfit” FBFF check out Adimpleate

6 thoughts on “Visual Friend Friday: An Outfit for a Song – “If I Die Young”

    • Thank you! And I nearly bought this skirt when it was first in stores – and full price. Matter of fact I once went there with the intent to buy it and they were out! Lucky me for finding one on clearance.

      Like

  1. J. says:

    Oh I love that song! One morning I was singing that first few lines in the shower, my boyfriend hates the lyrics. Or maybe I was the one who couldnt sing.
    Love your floral skirt. Thanks for participating this week FBFF.

    J.

    Like

Comments are closed.