Friend Friday: Dreams and Goals

Fess up – if you could do anything professionally what would it be?

I would love to be a research historian. Ya know the guys who archive and dig through history.

What draws you to this?

I absolutely *adore* history. For example, I don’t know whether my high school was difficult or not but I got a 100 in AP American History for the year. No joke. It’s a long story but I never took the test so I don’t know if I would have gotten a 5 or not. I read about history all the time. I know things and look at history like few other people do. I have tubs and boxes of newspapers and magazines in storage. I buy these just so that I can look back and say I was there. When I was 12 and 13 I was fascinated by a local antique shop that had a large display case of notable newspapers/headlines in history. Things like the Apollo Moon landing and JFK’s assignation. I always wanted to buy everything in that case.

I’ve been inspired by the law and by the stars and the weather but I keep going back to history. I read it for fun. I watch the History Channel (when they show actual history) for fun. I read about topics in history that no one cares about but that fascinate me like the history of marriage or of food and diet. I just can’t stop thinking about it.

When did you first start dreaming about this ideal?

Long long time. Ever since my first history classes in school. I memorized the Declaration of Independence not for the extra credit I got but because I wanted to when I was 11. I *love* history.

What’s holding you back from going all in?

I couldn’t afford to continue my college education. It cost too much. So I dropped out and got a job. I worked nights and while I’m sure there was a way to get it to work I couldn’t due to a number of extraneous circumstances. So it always came down to money and time I guess. Money and time.

Sometimes the first step is the hardest… what’s one step you can take now on the way to realizing your dream?

I really want to go back to school and do this. I think I am going to start taking classes part time at the local community college. I really need to just kick myself in the pants and do it.

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

4 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Dreams and Goals

  1. Even if you only took one night class or online course per semester you would be slowly getting closer to your ultimate goal and not breaking the bank either. Good luck going for it! – Katy

    Like

    • Thanks. And your exactly right. For me it’s more about being sacred to fail too. That and I was never big on going to class or school. Either way I just have to get over it already!

      Like

  2. Oh! If you love it that much – you have to make it happen! Go tell those lecturers how much you want to study their subjects, and ask how they can help you, given the circumstances – often people will respond, with getting you to teach lower level students, do marking, etc.
    I’m guessing you live in USA… marry a Norwegian and do university for free.
    yup, thats my two ideas for you…

    Like

Comments are closed.