The Latest in Thrifty Finds

This last weekend I had the opportunity to go to Second Chance as well as Goodwill. And I found some great items!

thrifted.8.15.2011

Top to bottom:

I got incredibly lucky and actually found some clothes that fit. This *never* happens. Seriously. Especially pants…and I found pants!! Pinstriped at that. Along with a gray long sleeve cardigan and a champagne “silk” blouse with some of the worst gold buttons I have ever seen. I’ll have to replace them with shell buttons or just plain ones.

Two felt pennants – the Idaho Springs one shocked me though! Finding a very old pennant like that here when I am from Clear Creek County, Colorado. Idaho Springs is nothing but a small town there after all. The Oklahoma City one was bought only because it was cheap and the fiance lived there for a bit.

These were the real reason I even went to Second Chance and thrift storing – Las Vegas and Nevada vintage postcards. I have this brilliant idea for a guest book – having people sign vintage postcards and then putting them in an album. I *love* postcards – I collect them after all. And for a city with tons and tons of postcards and a destination wedding this seems super fitting. I do believe it will take awhile to find all that I need. Though I did buy a lot of them on Etsy and have about 12 more coming my way. I’m trying to decide what to do about the “stamp” area on them though. I had an idea to use cool old stamps (I even have thought of using non-US postage in this area) or making our own stamp (though not too keen on this) and then “cancelling” it with a rubber stamp cancellation mark that consists of location, date and our names. Just like if it had been mailed. Then I thought about leaving it alone. I don’t want to actually mail any of the postcards as I don’t want them banged up in the postal system (and I *know* this happens) nor do I want ink all over them (destination bar codes). Any ideas out there?

Some random books – Kirsten’s entire collection of American Girl books (they were cheap and I don’t have her story – good for my kiddie book collection), 2 different Omaha books (the top is historical photos, the bottom postcards of Omaha) and a cocktail book. I buy cocktail books but never actually make cocktails. Eh.

2 thoughts on “The Latest in Thrifty Finds

  1. Great thirfting finds! It’s been fun to go thrifting again now that I can buy stuff again. I’ve found a few good things, but I’d love to spend some time in some bigger city settings.

    Like

    • No joke! I got super super lucky this week on my finds. Definitely bigger cities have more variety and finds only because of the sheer amount of people. Good luck with yours!!

      Like

Comments are closed.