Daily Outfit: My Uniform

So I have a story to tell you all:

Today is Everybody Everywear: Pattern Mixing and as you can see I am not participating this month.

I wanted to! I really really wanted to but I just don’t own enough patterned items. I wish I was kidding but I’m not. I have a floral romper, 3 striped shirts – one of which is a sweater and only the sweater shares any of the same colors as those in the romper, conveniently the romper and the striped sweater are colors I don’t buy much of and match none of my other clothes,  a couple patterned dresses that I could not make heads or tails of on matching with anything especially since I don’t own any patterned bottoms and for the most part my shoes are solid colored. The one classic exemption is what I was wearing here – snakeskin. Yep, it could have worked but I couldn’t find anything that really matched it, not in scale and not in color. And to top it off mixing patterns is not my thing (i.e. I’m not good at it and I don’t gravitate to it). I like solid colors & fabric textures & design. Just the kinds of things I like. As a result that means those are the kinds of clothes I own. Oh and did I mention I suck at the scale thing too? It looks more balanced when you do a smaller pattern with a larger pattern – all my patterns are just about the same size to each other. Not a lot to work with really. I am positive someone with better skills than me could do it with my clothes but I couldn’t. I failed.

I literally have a large pile of clothing on my bed from trying on several outfits this morning trying to get something to work. Nothing ever did. Oh well, it’s okay. I’ll participate next month. 😀 And I keep pushing for shoes and they never get voted in. Darn it.

So today I’m showing you my “uniform” as of late. Boring isn’t it? Yep. It’s making me snooze just looking at it. Don’t get me wrong it was comfortable and all that but not extremely interesting. Swap in a button-down for the jean jacket and different shorts or capris for those that I am wearing and you’ve got my outfits for the last 3 weeks. I’ve got one more like this photographed and then I’m done wearing them!

D-O-N-E I say! Next week I am getting creative. I’ve had it with this bs.

Oh and the capris? When I was going through my closet trying to find something for EBEW I pulled all my bottoms out and went through them one by one hoping to spot something and I stumbled on these. Totally forgot I even owned them. Kinda like shopping but better since I didn’t spend a dime! I think I might shorten them though and make true bermuda shorts out of them. Dunno yet.

08.08.2011a

Plain Blue long-line tank: Target (March 2011)
Plain White long-line tank: Target (July 2011)
Black denim pocketless capris/long bermudas: Thrifted (July 2009)
Dark wash jean jacket: Lane Bryant (March 2011)
Snake skin gladiator wedge sandals: Avenue (May 2011)
Long (all the same chain) Multi-chain necklace: Charming Charlie (July 2011)
Vintage rhinestone chandelier earrings: Second Chance/Thrifted (July 2011)

08.08.2011b

2 thoughts on “Daily Outfit: My Uniform

  1. Jackie says:

    I am horrible at pattern mixing myself. I wear alot of capris and design patterened tshirts. It seems to be my daily uniform this summer.

    Like

Comments are closed.