Friend Friday: Location Location Location

What part of the world do you blog from?

Omaha, Nebraska, USA. I know that there are few other style bloggers in these here parts but it’s not like Minneapolis or Texas. I know of only 3 personally. I would love to hear if there are any others in this neck of the woods!

If you had to describe the overall mode of dress for where you live what would you say?

You have 2 halves here – with the first being very very casual. There is jeans and t-shirts with athletic shoes but there is also very farmer like – jeans with boots & t-shirts. Very middle America. It’s not bad or good, it just is.

The other is a segment of the population that cares very much about fashion – very very much. Matter of fact Omaha Fashion Week begins on the 22nd with lots of Omaha fashion designers. I have debated going. I really probably should – I just haven’t made up my mind yet. We can be extremely cultural and big city here too. Which is nice when I want to wear something really weird. It doesn’t always work (too many casuals milling about for instance) but at least it’s not an unseen thing like it can be in a lot of small towns.

Do you fit in with the status quo around you or do you break the mold?

I honestly don’t know. I don’t get a lot of comments that give me an idea. The comments are very middle of the road (the same amount of bad vs good comments) and most of the people I talk to are in the “fashion is sweet” camp and so I don’t get too discouraged. I know I stick out some. And I do “blogger things” that make me stick out in the general sense. But honestly for the most part I think few people notice either way.

If you have lived or traveled to another part of the country/world did your clothing choices evolve?

Absolutely. I grew up right outside Denver, Colorado. I can remember having a phone conversation with my Colorado best friend a few months after moving to Nebraska and I was complaining about wearing boots to school. Boots that weren’t cool in Colorado and had grown out of favor long ago. That has stuck with me 16 years later. And I can remember how long it took for the “cool” in Colorado to reach my tiny farm town. And at first they made fun of me at school for how I dressed though I was totally in in Colorado. Eventually I conformed – I had to – it was all we could get in the days before the internet and online shopping. But in the 4 years we lived there I never forgot how far behind style-wise they all were. And yet I’m sure they thought they were cool. Yes I’m passing judgment but the words said to me still sting years later. That isn’t to say I wasn’t made fun of in Colorado either – oh I was – but that by the time high school rolled around it was a little harder to forget.

Now because of online shopping I buy a lot of stuff you can’t get here which changes the dynamics a bit. And because of the internet and TV in general the small towns are not as far behind as they once were but you can definitely see the differences in the various areas I have traveled to around the US.

If you had to describe your style by naming a specific city, what would you be?

Hmmm. No idea. Not a one. Probably here.

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

4 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Location Location Location

  1. Sorry for being an ignorant city girl but I had no idea Omaha had it’s own fashion week!!! That’s awesome. You should definitely go to check it out.

    Like

    • Missy says:

      Yep! I follow a couple of the designers on their various internet musings and it would be quite interesting see it all in person. I think I am going to try to make a show here or there – I just haven’t decided which ones yet.

      Like

    • Missy says:

      Pfft – Des Moines is like next door. Especially when we are talking the blogging world! Definitely you should! Lots of fun!

      Like

Comments are closed.