Daily Outfit: DIY Maxi Skirt

This maxi skirt used to be a dress. The maxi dress from the Winter 30 for 30 Remix actually. Elaine at I’m Clothed Much decided to remix (aka chop up) one of her maxi dresses and made into a skirt. While reading her post I realized that I never ever wore this maxi dress without something over it. The rings on the straps were too revealing and it was too low cut on the back. I’m way more modest that that. Not to mention I recently bought a black maxi dress with sleeves and I hadn’t worn this one since the 30 For 30. So I cut off the straps, sewed a band around the top for elastic, treaded it and it was good to go! Almost too easy. I really like how it’s a lovely long length. Not something I can find easily in maxi skirts.

Gah I also realized I wear a lot of black, white and gray!! That’s it. Next week I’m challenging myself to only wear color from head to toe (well shoes may be a challenge but I will *try*). I’m trying color blocking too, damn it. I have had enough of all the black, white and gray!

05.25.2011a

Black chambray button down: TJ Maxx (April 2011)
Black Maxi Dress DIYed into a skirt: Avenue (April 2010)
Snake skin gladiator wedge sandals: Avenue (May 2011)
Grouped Multichain necklace: Lane Bryant (Aug 2010)
Bangle bracelets: Evans UK (Feb 2011)

05.25.2011b

