Everybody Everywear: Maxi

This month’s Everybody Everywear challenge is the maxi. Which means I have a “problem”. I’m 6’1″. And plus size obviously. Guess what most designers think is an acceptable length for plus size tall individuals? Answer: 58 inches from shoulder to hem. This dress is from my recent Evans UK order and yes, it is 58 inches. Do you see where it falls on me? Yep. I would love to get a floor hitting length maxi but unless I make it myself (which I don’t do much of) that’s not going to happen. Oh well, this length is nice on me too since you still get to see my shoes. It’s just not as long as most people’s version of “maxi”.

On a related note when I put on this sweater I literally lost my breath. I have been going into my closet and just running my hand over it from time to time. I absolutely *love* this sweater.

Maxi Skirt/Dress | Everybody, Everywear

Did I mention today is my birthday? Yep. I am turning 30. Got big dinner plans with the family at the Cheesecake Factory tonight. And as for today I am going thrift storing. I love thrift storing and every year I try to go on my birthday and find something special I may not normally buy. One year I bought my 1940s vanity.

And last but not least I cut my hair yesterday. What do you think? I didn’t realize until I got home but I accidentally got the melon head cat look!! Yikes!

04.12.2011b

Black maxi with sleeves: Evans UK (April 2011)
Gray hanky hem sweater: Evans UK (April 2011)
Gray stretch lace belt: Torrid (April 2011)
Gladiator cuffed flat sandals: Torrid (June 2010)
Off set gem flower multi-chain necklace: Apt 9 from Kohl’s (March 2011)
Crystal bracelets: Torrid (April 2011)

04.12.2011c

I don’t like wearing these sandals when it’s hot – the fake plastic whatever material they used wraps around my ankle and literally sweats me out! They are considerably warmer than anticipated since we are talking sandals here. Bizarre.

04.12.2011e

14 thoughts on “Everybody Everywear: Maxi

  1. Rose says:

    1. I love this outfit! It may be one of my faves – and I’m drooling over the sweater!
    2. the hair is cute! Play with the styling and you’ll feel less melon-head-cat-like. I think it’s a flattering length.
    3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! When I turned 30 (nearly a year ago) I created a list of 30 things to do at 30. It changed, almost completely, throughout the year, but I have to say it has been the best year of my life, and I’ve pushed the boundaries in new ways, and I’ve LOVED my 30s so far. 🙂 I hope you have an awesome birthday, and a great start to a new year in life!

    Like

    • Missy says:

      Thank you several different times for several things you said! This is actually one of favorites too! And I haven’t messed with the hair much, but I will. I like the idea of a 30 list. I think I’m going to sit down and write mine out. Fabulous idea!

      Like

    • Missy says:

      😀 I warn ya – they make my feet sweat…and my feet NEVER sweat. I call them my “Winter Sandals”!!

      Like

  2. happy birthday! that sweater looks super soft, and i love the color–so versatile. i can’t find floor-length maxis either, and i’m 5’8″, so i feel your pain. annnnd (heh, longest comment ever? maybe) i think your hair is cut to a great length! it always takes me a few days post-haircut to really make it “me,” you know? anyway. the end. 🙂
    -brittney
    http://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (my daily outfit blog)

    Like

    • Missy says:

      So I guess ya gotta be 5 foot nothing then? Sigh.

      Thank you! I like it but your absolutely right…gotta make it “me” still. Take me a few days yet.

      Like

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Here’s to finding something fantastic when you go thrifting 🙂

    I too am tall (only 5’11” though), so I know how the whole too short maxi thing goes. It stinks! You pulled it off well. Oh, and the necklace? LOVE IT!

    Like

  4. I’m so behind on my EBEW commenting, so this is late but HAPPY BIRTHDAY! And, yeah, that sweater looks lovely.
    Thanks for joining us at EBEW!

    Like

Comments are closed.