Friend Friday: Feminism

1. Do you think there is an incapability between feminism and a love for fashion?

Nope. To me Feminism is (partly) defined as the desire to do whatever you want without being limited by gender/sex. I can like anything I want. Likewise for men. We are all peacocks after all and just wanting to impress. There are lots of ways we do that – fashion is just one.

2. There is more to each of us than a love for fashion, how do you incorporate every aspect of yourself into your blog?

I wave my geek flag proudly! Ever since I tossed aside the foodie/food blogger niche my blog has been about me and that’s it. I post things I like, things I am interested in. I post my trips & vacations. I post my love for Doctor Who & playing World of Warcraft (even though I just gave it up and am now playing Rift), my love of (amateur) photography, my favorite links. Sure adding fashion/style here on a larger scale added another layer to the blog, but I have always posted that stuff (see the first posts I “wrote” to bring back my dead blog in August 2009 for example).

3. With the fashion industry still being a male-dominated profession, how do you think it would differ if women played a larger role?

Realistic body expectations perhaps. Shoes we can actually walk in (*see note). Then again maybe not. Maybe the male-dominated aspect of it has nothing to do with it. Maybe it is all about the creatives and just what they can dream up, male or female.

4. How is your self-image and the way you carry yourself informed by your beliefs?

One example: I know that sex sells, both to men and women. There is no denying this. But like all things it is situation specific and I believe that the sex goddess or the nun come out when it is appropriate to do so. It’s not just respectful of those around you and of the situation but it is respectful to your own being as well.

My style reflects all this. I do not sell sex unless it’s a date likewise I will not dress like a nun when on a date (well not when on a date with my bf anyway but in the past I sort of did on first dates – that’s a really complicated explanation).

In all things I try to have my style, my clothing/make-up/etc choices reflect my belief about that situation and myself in that situation. AKA don’t wear heels to go on a nature hike and don’t wear a tube top at church, etc.

5. Do you think clothing/makeup/hair helps communicate the truth about yourself or are those things superfluous add-ons?

I think how I present myself (my clothes, shoes, make-up aka style) is such that it makes me feel confident in who I am as a person. Those tools give me beautiful peacock feathers and the ability to strut around the best I know how. Basically I know how to be the most beautiful me because I am confident that with all the fashion trappings I have made my outside as beautiful as my inside. There is so much more to me but if I can give myself the boost I need to let it all shine through then it’s worth it. Gaw…I sound like Stacy & Clinton from “What Not to Wear”! But it’s true.

*Note: From InStyle’s March 2010 magazine – pg 198: Alber Elbaz said “For my spring 2011 collection, I had designed all these incredibly high shoes. I wanted the models to stride down the runway with real power. But when one after the other stumbled, I could see fear on their faces. So I told them to wear flats. And all of a sudden everything looked right. Bodies moved with assurance and strength, the clothes became even more fluid, and the women looked more sensual than ever because they felt at ease.”

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

