The Paper Doll Project

One of my absolute favorite “toys” as a kid were paperdolls. Getting to change up what someone else wears so that I think they look good? Oh yeah. Takes my whole bossy side and amplifies it. Well Suze from Miss Vinyl Ahoy announced the first ever Paper Doll Project. Basically it paired up bloggers to create a look for the other around one item. I get to dig around in someone else’s closet and tell them what to wear? Again, oh yeah. The whole project was loads of fun!

I was paired up with the very bubbly and lovely Alyson from The Average Girls Guide. And does she have style! Very funky on the mixing of patterns, colors and textures. She has an amazing scarf as her item so go check out how I dressed her.

But I have to come clean about something right now…I am really really sick with a head cold. It took a lot of drugs to get me dressed and outside to take photos. And in most of my photos I have the “eyes glazed over & noticeably red nose” look going on. This photo was the only decent one of the 50 I took…yeah 50.

My item was the dreaded black blazer. I keep wanting to work it in in new ways – gotta justify the purchase somehow. But Alyson did a fabulous job! I love the outfit and never would have paired this all together. I am promising to wear it out this weekend or next as it’s incredibly funky. Oh and I’m promising to get some suntan in a bottle…oy vey all the white!

03.22.11a

Green criss-cross topped dress: Old Navy (March 2011) – buy it here
Black traditional blazer (sleeves rolled up): Lane Bryant (Feb 2011)
Lace up heeled ankle boots: Evans UK (Feb 2011)
Gold & Pink Lace multichain necklace: Evans UK (Feb 2011)
Bangle bracelets: Avenue (Jan 2011)
Bulova Watch: gift/earned (Jan 2011)

For all the Paper Doll Project partners check out Miss Vinyl Ahoy!

Paper Doll Project

8 thoughts on “The Paper Doll Project

  1. Snazzy, I love this outfit and really want that dress. I haven’t been to Old navy in forever, but thank you for the push!! 🙂 Lovely Outfit!!

    Like

    • Missy says:

      It really could bring in some unloved items to the mix. Will probably do that on another round of Paper Doll. I too am thrilled with how this turned out!

      Like

  2. Found you from the Paper Doll Project 🙂 I love the blazer paired with those boots, very cool! On my way to check out how you styled Alyson now 🙂

    Like

    • Missy says:

      Thank you! Credit goes to Alyson though as I don’t think I would have put this all together like this. And yes this challenge was lots of fun…can’t wait to do it again!

      Like

Comments are closed.