Oklahoma City Road Trip!

I *love* travelling. Even if it doesn’t involve much more than hanging out with friends who live somewhere else (St. Louis I’m looking at you next!) – it’s nice hanging out with people I like but it’s great being able to see a new part of the country too. After all how else do I get new postcards to add to my collection?!

*I don’t talk about it much so for those that may not read the About Me page – I am a massive collector and lover of postcards. I’m actually going to count them again as I’ve been saying 500 for the last 6 years or so and I have no idea if that is right anymore – anyhow I digress…*

This past weekend the boyfriend and I drove down to Oklahoma City. Not only did we get to hang out with some amazing friends  – I got to see my boyfriend’s wonderful  sister and her hubby as they drove up from Dallas too! 😀 but I also got to see more of Oklahoma than I did last time I was there. And I was able to check out Kansas’ tallgrass prairie. But that’s a post for tomorrow…

I noticed a few things once I got home and downloaded everything – I took most of my photos using the Hipstamatic app on my iPhone, I documented very little of the trip and I did not take any photos of people. I have no idea how that happened. Damn. Oh well. Gives me another excuse to go back! 😀

Oklahoma countryside

Honestly Oklahoma looks a heck of a lot like Nebraska – the dirt is just a heck of a lot redder. It is pretty, more or less, in bits and pieces, I’m afraid. Kinda like here.

Will Rogers Park - OKC

The Charles E. Sparks Rose Garden in Will Rogers Park in OKC. Just beautiful! I can see why so many people either get married here or get photos taken here.

Will Rogers Park - OKC

More of the same…interesting location.

Lake Heffner - OKC

Interestingly this Hipstamatic photo did not change the color of the sand on the beach here at Lake Heffner…it’s really that red!

Oklahoma City National Memorial

One of the things I really wanted to do while down there was visit the Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum. We happened to plan our trip perfectly somehow as Feb 19th was the 10 year anniversary of the dedication of the museum so they had free entry all day. What a beautiful but sad and somber place. Hard not to be moved by it.

Oklahoma City National Memorial

Oklahoma City National Memorial

Oklahoma City National Memorial

Oklahoma City National Memorial

I took no photos inside the museum – it didn’t sit right with me for some reason. But I did take a few of a preserved room in the museum – a building that sat adjacent to the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building – which also received heavy damage in the explosion and shows what happened in the blast. This was especially hard to reflect on.

Oklahoma City National Memorial

The man who’s office was next to this room lived.

Other than visiting a few parks and the museum we went bowling, checked out Bricktown a bit (very little bit), went to the Old Paris Flea Market, went out to eat a few times (I *refuse* to eat at places I have at home if I can help it when traveling) and visited with friends. It was a very lovely visit and one we need to repeat soon!

Oklahoma Joe's BBQ - Olathe, KS

On the way home we stopped in Kansas City and got possibly the best BBQ I have ever had. Ever. These guys were amazing! I know I am in love now! After all they were voted Best BBQ in Kansas City (several years in a row) by Zagat…basically that means they are the best BBQ in the world. I think they know what they are doing!

Oklahoma Joe's BBQ - Olathe, KS

Oh man was it yummy! I brought a bottle of sauce home but it will *not* be the same! Afterall the sauce is great but the meat is where it’s at. I am planning to go back to KC this summer, if for no more reason than to get this BBQ!! And yes I take pictures of my food. 😀

There’s a lot more scenery pics and the like in my Flickr stream so feel free to check those out.

