Friend Friday: Body Image

1. Since you started blogging has your image of yourself changed?

Yup. Big time. I started blogging just so I had a place to put the things I loved (whatever that was) scared that other people would hate on me for it. Call it low self-esteem or being chicken shit, whichever you prefer. It happened when I was younger in school by classmates – and the internet is a big place full of a lot of people. But I realized, much like the conclusion I came to in high school, that as long I loved it and I was true to myself who cares what anyone else thinks – scary anonymous internet peeps or not. As a result that has carried over into my real, unplugged, life. I truly just love what I love, love being me and I love sharing that. Especially when I get great compliments/comments about it!

2. Are you self-conscious about any aspect of yourself? If so, do you go out of your way to avoid it or do you post it/talk about it anyway?

Yep. My weight, my double chin (*sigh*). I haven’t avoided the weight thing but I have avoided talking about my double chin as much as I possibly can! I am embarrassed that I let myself get this chunky. Some of it is medical, some of it is how my body is built, and a lot of it is laziness. At any rate I figure that if I own up to all those “bad things” about me (in my eyes anyway) then I can start to conqueror them. Talking about that helps me on this path.

3. Based on how you are feeling now, what do you think the future holds in the evolution of your body image?

Considering the deep dark hole I once lived in it can only go up! I am trying to feel better about my body, my image. Otherwise I wouldn’t be as obsessed with fashion mags and fashion bloggers like I am! I should be proud to be me…I do it better than anyone else!

4. Do you photograph yourself for your blog? If so, how do you feel about the experience when you’re having your picture taken? If you choose not to post pictures of yourself, what prompted that decision?

Taking my picture always makes me nervous as I do want to look my best – and I constantly make funny faces at the camera! I’d really like to brave the outdoors, as it does take better pictures, but I live in a weird apartment complex. Unless I drive somewhere more remote (hmmm….) or figure out some locations nearby that get good light and NO traffic that isn’t going to happen soon. So as brave as I am posting my photos – I am like everyone else – too chicken to set up a tripod and take photos of myself where other people might be. Why is that? Why is that so uncomfortable for most people?

5. What would you want every person who struggles with body image to take to heart?

Love yourself, don’t hate your body. It’s the most important thing. All the rest will come in time. And the things you see as “issues” are not usually issues to anyone but yourself.

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

One thought on “Friend Friday: Body Image

Comments are closed.