Friend Friday: Color Wars

1. What color dominates your closet?

Black. Without a doubt, without a question in my mind. For a lot of reasons really. The whole slimming myth for one. But also because black matches everything. And sometimes an item will look cheap in a colored or patterned fabric but rich and expensive if done in black (the reserve is true too but I try not to focus on that!).

Other than black I have a lot of earth tones, greens especially. I tend to buy red or orange accessories – nearly all my purses are one or the other for example. Red is my favorite color and it’s so bold that I tend to want to do it only in pops of color – it makes a big impact that way.

2. If money weren’t an issue how would you change the color emphasis in your closet?

I dunno if I would. I think I would be too scared to do it. Yup. I wish I could say green or red though as I love dressing in those colors.

3. What is your mantra about mixing colors?

Two main colors with an accent of another one. I will do tones of the same color and count them as one but I can’t look like a rainbow. It’s my safe spot for me I guess. I try to do more occasionally and then I just catch a glimpse of myself and think “you look like a dork” so…it’s something I need to work on and branch out with.

And I really really love bold colors against a black or neutral background. Looks stunning usually.

4. For you, how do you incorporate color into your outfits?

I try to buy colored tops even though black is so predominate I own only 3 or 4 black shirts. I also only buy colored accessories – I hate buying neutral purses unless they have something that makes them stand out on their own – i.e. lots of studs, buckles, chain, etc. Likewise with jewelry, scarves, etc. Accessories should not fade away. That’s also the easiest way to bring in color to your wardrobe without trying too hard.

5. Which blogger(s) do you think do a good job of incorporating color into their wardrobe?

Hands down Kimberly at Fab Finds Under $50. Way more color (and pattern!) than I could ever do. Same goes for Tina at T minus T plus. I just don’t do color like either of these ladies.

To learn more about Friend Friday or check out the other blogs participating visit Modly Chic

