Friend Friday: Bandwagon Blogging Events

1. With all the blogging events out there how do you determine which ones to participate in and which ones to avoid? Typically I don’t participate as much as I would like. I agonize over my writing and rewrite, rewrite, rewrite so much that I end up getting left in the dust without much to show for it. I am actively working to change that.

And if that isn’t what happened it’s usually a challenge or event I am ill prepared for. Take Everybody Everywear for example. Fabulous idea! The gist being that everyone has the same basic items but that we all style them differerently. Except we don’t all have the same items. I own *none* of the items picked so far. Not gingham, not breton stripes in any form, and not a blazer. Nope, nope, nope. Nothing on that list at all. I am choosing not to participate as I don’t already have them. Though I admit there is a black velvet blazer on clearance at Lane Bryant that I have been thinking about for a week. It would look really good with my closet and I nearly bought it twice and actually photos can’t be submitted until the 8th and I still have a spot open in my 30 For 30 challenge (ok, yes I know no shopping but I really truly don’t own a blazer at all, it would be a nice investment in business attire)… but I digress. Maybe next month will focus on something I actually own.

Otherwise the only other reason I wouldn’t participate is my lack of enthusiasm for the event. If it doesn’t interest me enough to forward that blog post to my email to keep track of it then it’s not interesting enough to do. Period.

2. Be honest, have you ever jumped on the bandwagon of some blogging movement/event for the wrong reasons? How did that turn out? Nope. Nothing that entered the public eye at any rate. I typically will try out a blogging event “behind the scenes” never publishing a word until I make up my mind if it’s worth it or not to me – if I actually care enough about whatever it is to write at length about it, photograph it, etc. Ultimately I decide whether all the effort is worth it – if I care enough about doing it to let others in on it. Sometimes I decide too late and don’t get to join in, other times it doesn’t inspire me enough to write about it. I try to be authentic both with myself and with my blog.

3. How do you give your own flair to a blog event while still maintaining the general mission and purpose? My personal mission is to be me and blog about what I love so anything I do must keep in line with that. From there it’s easy. It’s very easy to talk about what I love. I just have to remember that the final output should make me happy. And I have to be realistic with myself.  No way would I sign up for a “Write a new blog post everyday for a month” challenge as I would never be able to do that. Too time consuming for me. But there are always challenges out there that can push me just that little bit, which makes it fun for me. And hopefully my way of viewing and interpreting the challenge ends up fun for others too. I try to write/post something I would want to read.

4. When determining the best content for your blog what criterion do you keep in mind? My blog is me. It’s the things I’m interested in and the things that excite me. It’s also the things that people tell me they really love about me and/or my blog. For example, I have gotten several comments the last few months about liking the fashion/daily outfits/etc that I post. So I stepped it up a notch and joined this latest round of 30 For 30 from Kendi. Am I a daily outfit blogger? Nope. But it’s something new for me, a new challenge, something to do and write about. Is it the best content for me? I dunno. I guess I will have to wait and see what kind of responses I get.

5. While everything will not suit your blog, how do you try and support your fellow bloggers who are participating in something worthwhile but not your style? I actually don’t do enough of this. I really really don’t. I need to comment more. I need to connect more. We all have one thing in common regardless of content – we love blogging. And if I’m reading your blog it’s usually because we have something else in common too not just the blogging. And that is worth supporting someone for.

I know how much comments mean to me, it can’t be any less for anyone else. Just a comment I think helps support something you may not want to do but plenty of others do.

*Oy! These were difficult this week! I know why I do what I do but I have a heck of a time explaining it.*

*Friend Friday is the brainchild of Katy from ModlyChic*

2 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Bandwagon Blogging Events

  1. Darn!! I feel so bad that you haven’t had the items…though to be fair the gingham was just the practice before we started the site 😉
    After next week’s blazer theme, the theme will be opened up to suggestions and voting….suggest something you DO have! Please don’t feel like you need to buy something to join in. I know there will be weeks when I can’t participate!
    The Auspicious Life
    Everybody Everywear

    Like

  2. Missy says:

    Oh I’m not bothered by it in the least so you shouldn’t be either! Still a fabulous idea! And I fully intend to vote in something I do have.

    Like

Comments are closed.