Friend Friday: Blogger Mechanics

Alright I’ve never participated in one of these Friend Fridays from ModlyChic. For a lot of reasons. Least of which is that I am not a fashion blogger. Ok. A little bit. And I keep dipping my toes more and more into it. I have always posted the things I bought and/or love but only within the last few months have I started posting my outfits. I’m thinking of doing that more…so we shall see…

And while a lot of the Friend Fridays posted don’t pertain much to me (not yet anyway), this one I can do. So this is my first.

1. What technology do you use in blogging?

First and foremost my baby – a rather spiffy gaming computer I bought in August. It runs World of Warcraft more than adequately so it’s fast, lots of memory, the works. I spent a lot of dough on it but I love it to death – Windows 7 and all. I also use a 3 year old Panasonic (DMC-LS80) point and shoot with a tripod for all my pictures. I actually need to get a new camera at some point but haven’t found one I like better. Otherwise I use my iPhone. My other luvah. 😀

2. What computer and online technology do you use?

Since I’m a small fry with a personal blog that has a small audience I don’t do much. Paint.Net for photo cropping and the like. Nothing fancy. All photos are hosted at Photobucket but maybe I should change that up.

3. What is your process for taking pictures?

Basically whenever I feel pretty or think I am wearing something interesting and I have a spare moment I decide to take my photo. Some make the cut on the blog but most haven’t yet. It depends on how the photos look. I’m getting braver.

I just set up the tripod, hit the timer, run and smile. I then check to see what the photo looked like and see what needs to be changed or highlighted. Usually 10 or so photos. From there download, crop and see what I can mash up. Sometimes good, sometimes bad. Like I said I am getting braver with posting…

4. When it comes to backdrops for your photos what do you consider? Do you scout locations or shoot the same spot daily?

So far only in my living room. I really need to branch out and go outside and find somewhere interesting but I haven’t yet as most photos are taken just as I am headed out the door. Interesting enough I don’t think that is the part I am chicken about! I’m much more afraid of what people in that nameless space called the internet will say about my look. People can be very very mean when they don’t have to look you in the eye.

5. If you could splurge and get one new piece of equipment what would you be buying?

A new camera with a remote timer. I’m sure it’s in my future very soon if I keep pushing myself to do this. I want a new camera anyway.

2 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Blogger Mechanics

  1. Welcome to FBFF. I’m glad you decided to post on this topic and feel free to jump in and out of the topics as they apply to you. There’s no rule you need to do it weekly, just when it works for you. – Katy

    Like

Comments are closed.