Trader Joe’s

Photobucket

Omaha finally got a Trader Joe’s. Finally. It constantly amazes me that a small city in the middle of fly over country actually has things big cities have. And mine is only 2 miles and 5 minutes from my apartment – oh and next to Sur La Table and about 1 mile and 2 minutes from Whole Foods, Williams Sonoma and Anthropolgie. You can’t get much better than that.

Anyway, it opened last Friday.

We attempted to check it out Sunday morning (thinking most people would be in church). HA! There was actually a line out the door. It was CRAMMED with people. You could barely walk. I snagged a few things that I could remember and/or get to and/or they still had on the shelves and we high tailed it out of there. I went back again today and did it a little more leisurely. But the place was still packed and a lot of things were missing from the shelves. The only bright side is no line either day. I was able to walk right up and check out which is awesome no matter what store you’re in.

Photobucket

Taken with my iPhone and at a distance so forgive the quality but this is the pile of delivery boxes behind the store. Oh just slightly insane?!

The store is amazing though. Great prices, good quality, great selection, no HFCS (high fructose corn syrup) and ingredients you can actually read. I am a foodie first and foremost so getting this store in the area has been on my desired list for awhile. I love the different selections of gourmet items you can find. Tons of different appetizers in a box, lots of easy to prepare foods, fabulous deserts and not a bad wine selection (though I still prefer Whole Foods for wine and beer). If I ever throw a dinner party I know where to go. 🙂

My haul – almost entirely bought on recommendations:

Photobucket

  • Spiced Cranberry Cider – seasonal and so freaking good. If you like Cranberry juice this is like an improvement! I might have to buy a few to stash away.
  • Puff Pastry – I got the last 2 boxes in the freezer case. This is also seasonal and I have no idea what to do with it but I have read that if your going to use any puff pastry at all use theirs – best on the market.
  • Chile Relleno – I *love* chile rellenos. They are indeed easy to make but I’m lazy. I’d rather buy it. I hope these are good.
  • Vanilla Yogurt – I am a Brown Cow fan. BIG FAN. And Trader Joe’s is pretty good – better than your *ahem* regular commercial yogurts anyway. Not sure it compares but since the only place I know of in Omaha to get Brown Cow is Whole Foods and I sometimes don’t feel like going there this is a very nice alternative.
  • Spinach & Artichoke Dip – the one pictured is actually the 2nd one purchased. We ate the 1st last night. Yeah it’s that good. I am bringing this to things I need to bring food to in the future. Very very yummy!
  • Masala Simmer Sauce – I hope this is good. I like Indian and I don’t make it enough at home.
  • Indian Naan bread – heard high marks about this one (frozen and not frozen alike) and can’t wait to try it.
  • Peppermint Jo Joe’s – Peppermint filled chocolate wafer cookies covered in chocolate and bits of peppermint. Imagine what that tastes like. Yeah. That’s it. When I went back today these were GONE. Entirely.
  • Mandarin Chicken – every list I looked up regarding what to buy had this on it. Every list. I figured that meant something. I love mandarin oranges, I love orange chicken so this had better not disappoint!
  • Mini chicken tacos – heard good things about these and others. This was the boyfriend’s choice.
  • Mashed potatoes – this comes as little “discs” of mashed potatoes. You just heat up as much as you need and there you go all done! A bag is only $1.99 – that’s better than getting a bag of potatoes especially since with the just the 2 of us we never eat many potatoes.
  • Chocolate covered butter biscuits – oh my are these good! Great with tea!
  • Sipping Chocolate – this smells heavenly!! Like very rich cocoa. Can not wait to try it – too bad I’m drinking the Cranberry Cider right now!
  • Tortilla chips – in the bag. These were also very yummy. But we have some left so I had to buy more Artichoke dip today to polish off this bag.
  • Gorgonzola gnocchi – this is another one that makes everyone’s lists. I love gnocchi but don’t get it much as it’s usually expensive.
  • Candy Cane Jo Joe’s – yummy! I am making Oreo balls with these this year, definitely.
  • French onion soup – not pictured as we ate it for dinner last night. Oh this was really really good! Had cheese in it and everything (something lesser soups do not do)! Not homemade but it didn’t stink up my apartment like homemade does. Totally buying it again.

And just to give you an idea of how much everything cost:

Photobucket

Fair market without a doubt. Totally going back as part of my regular rounds, that’s for sure.

