My Doll Collection – Part 2

I used have a free Geocities website many many years ago where I highlighted all these dolls, information about collecting them, everything. But I soon let the page fall into disuse (too much upkeep, not very many updates and photos were too expensive since digital cameras were still in their infancy and too expensive) and then Geocities transformed into a paid service and my website was deleted. Along with most of the information since I was too lazy to grab it.

As such I have no idea what names I gave all of these guys. I do not have any original birth certificates except from my very first and original CPK in 1983. My mother kept that even if the doll was lost in a move and in early 2001 I decided to recreate her based on family photos I had. In the process I picked up many more dolls and clothes. I picked up new releases and new editions as they came out. I truly fell in love. And then I decided to get married and just did not have the extra dough for CPKs, new or used. I never got back into it and the dolls remain in storage to this day.

It was seeing this framed collection of photos of action figures that inspired me to take them out and document them. I’m in the process of getting a collage together now.

Photobucket

These 3 are the anniversary additions and were purchased in 2004 brand new. They have amazingly beautiful eyes! No flat color here! Otherwise they resemble the original dolls from 1983 almost exactly. Same size, same paperwork. A nice anniversary tribute!

Photobucket

This is the first Toys R Us CPK I purchased in 2003 when they hit nationwide. These dolls are HUGE (20 inches tall) and were expensive. To the tune of $70. But I loved them. And they really can’t stand – their heads are too big and they fall over!

Anyway this is Abby (Abigail Maureen actually) and is by far my favorite CPK. I think it’s the purple eyes. Her original school girl outfit is on the left. I have her wearing a Build-a-Bear outfit that actually fits these guys perfectly. Her shoes are CPK Sketchers that were released at the same time as the dolls.

Photobucket

This is Sally Felicia. Never much liked her name. Her original outfit is on the left and she is wearing a pajama and robe set that I purchased separately – also official CPK.

Photobucket

Helena Keesha. I bought her online from a collector that I knew at the time because the birthday on her certificate matches my birthday. She also has the purple eyes and the crinkle hair which I was important to me. Love this outfit though. Especially the black patent mary janes.

Photobucket

Lara Corvina. Again original outfit on the left which I absolutely hate. It looks silly. So she’s wearing a rocker girl Build-a-Bear outfit with her original shoes.

Now on to the original 1980s Colecos:

Photobucket

My original “replica” is on the right in the purple, a 1983 and everything. My original stayed with me until I was 10 years old in relatively good condition (consider the hair is yarn and the body is made of some horrible fabric that stains easily).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The popcorn girl in the middle is one of very favorites. Love that hair! The cubby facemold on the right is another favorite.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The kid in the center is just a short full size CPK. But she is very short for a CPK. The ones on either end are toddlers released later in the CPK reign by Coleco (approximately 1986/1987 – I put them back in storage already and forgot to check their tushes).

One thought on “My Doll Collection – Part 2

Comments are closed.