Book Review: The Warded Man

PhotobucketI have never done a book review on here. Interesting since I am a voracious reader. I read at least 2 books a week, sometimes as many as 6 or 7 depending on the types of books – Chick Lit can be finished in an afternoon after all. I don’t have kids, I have a lot of spare time alone and I have a job that involves a heck of a lot of waiting around for something to happen – so I get the luxury of being able to read this much and I love it!

The reason, however, that I have never written a review is rather simple though. I read too much (and would rather read than write a review on it) and I rarely ever fall in love with a book. Sure I read a lot of great books, books I would recommend in an instant, but I almost never fall in love. Falling in love with a book is so complicated. It’s so entangling. And it’s sad. I absolutely despise finishing a book I love. I almost always end up heartbroken at the end – especially if there isn’t anymore story or won’t be for awhile. Like Harry Potter. I was  a fan starting in 1999 and the release of the 3rd book. It was tough seeing it all end with book 7. At least I still have the movies to look forward to!

I feel that way about The Warded Man by Peter Brett (Amazon and Barnes & Noble). I love this novel. I love his writing, his use of story telling and his character development. You see the characters as very real people, full of trials and failures as well as successes. The story flows so smoothly you get so wrapped up in what is actually happening you forget to get impatient about what is going to happen – though you CAN and DO get impatient.

The novel starts with the story telling of 3 different individuals. You start first with Arlen then switch to Leesha and then Rojer. He tells you just enough of each story line to get you hooked then switches to the next character. He continues to do this until the 3 meet up later in the book after many years on their own paths.

The story is set in a world of demons and humans. The demons – sand demons, rock demons, wood demons, air demons, water demons, etc – come out at night. Humans are only able to keep them at bay with magical glyphs creating a kind of magical net that the demons can not cross otherwise the demons are too strong and able to devour any human they meet. And humans are scared. It’s terrifying and there doesn’t seem to be any hope. The 3 main title characters share one common trait though – they are tired of being scared of demons and want a solution. A solution that each formulates based on their own skills and understandings that meshes well with the other 2.

I can remember hearing about this book before last week, but I don’t recall ever actually looking it up. Last week news stories appeared about the release of his second book in the series (released last week and my next – current – read) – The Desert Spear (Amazon and Barnes & Noble). Turns out he wrote the first book and half of the second book on his smartphone on the train to and from work in New York City. I was intrigued to say the least. I looked up the reviews, was blown away, and had to read it. I haven’t read a fantasy novel of this caliber in a long long time. It’s also going to be made into a movie with a projected date of 2012 so far. And it would make an excellent movie!

In short, if you love fantasy at all, you will love this book. If you love carefully crafted, interesting story telling, you will love this book. Read it. Read a sample if you need convinced but read it.

Oh and both books can be bought as dead tree or e-book from both Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Warded Man

  1. anonymus says:

    This was a vary intresting book. I loved it, I was actuyally trying to find out if they,re making another book in the series (and since they most likely are) when, i have already finsihed the dessert spear and if someone can post a reply after this one to notify me of a title and release date if there is another book coming i would greatly appreciate it.

    Like

Comments are closed.