Welcome to 2010!

I have been thinking about what I want to accomplish this next year. 2009 was indeed a fabulous year. Lots of great memories to include on the shelf. So I’ve been thinking about all the ways I can improve 2010.

I don’t want to have BS resolutions. I never keep those, neither does anyone else. So what do I do instead? What to I decide to promise myself in the hopes of making something of my life in the next year?

This morning in a bit of a shopping spree I decided to buy a few cookbooks on Amazon. I have Christmas money to spend. Sure I could save it…but it was a gift and I wanted to use it. So I ended up buying Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child, Joy of Cooking (75th Anniversary edition) by Irma S. Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker and Ethan Becker and a few historical reprints – The First American Cookbook: A Facsimile of “American Cookery,” 1796 by Amelia Simmons, The Virginia Housewife: Or Methodical Cook: A Facsimile of an Authentic Early American Cookbook,” 1824 by Mary Randolph and Early American Cookery: “The Good Housekeeper,” 1841 by Sarah Josepha Hale.

I bought the reprints I did as I have heard of all 3 of these books, they were cheap and I’ve always wanted to read them. I will very likely never use them to actually cook but they make for fun reading.

As for the 2 serious cookbooks I bought let me start with “Joy” first. I needed a new copy. It’s that simple. My old one is over 10 years old, looking worse for wear and I wanted this new edition.

Now as for “Mastering”. I admit I am like a lot of people and have fallen in love with French food and Julia Child once again since the movie “Julie & Julia” came out. Pathetically true. But I just finished up “My Life in France” by Julia Child and couldn’t help fall in love with the story. I want to cook from “the Book”. I want to try some authentic recipes by Julia Child herself. I have loads of French cookbooks…after all I was born in 1981 and international cuisine had hit big by then. But I have never really cooked from a Julia Child cookbook. Some of her recipes here and there, sure, but not one of her books. Definitely not from THE book. So I am going to try.

Matter of fact that was my whole point with all this – I am going to try to be adventurous. I am going to try new things and new experiences. I am going to try to travel as much as I can, physically and through food. There is so much I have yet to eat. I am going to see what I am missing. I spent years without all this…now I want to see as much as I can.

And that is my “resolution” for the new year.

