Decorating and Inspiration

I’ve really had decorating on my mind lately. And not so much furniture – I *LOVE* my furniture. No, its more of the “its too cluttered in here how can I make it look sleeker? less is more” or “I wonder if that will make a bigger impact than what I have now” or even “gosh I wanna move”. Ok the last one doesn’t have much to do with it other than I really do want a new space. That might help.

See more than anything I have clutter on my mind. I am tired of buying stuff I never use, looking at stuff I never use, and in general having a lot of wasted space being eaten up. I have this beautiful bronzey/gold aged trunk that I found at a thrift store many years ago. I used it as a coffee table for a time, now its just a bench to hold pillows, my purse, etc. The inside is like new and rather large…so what’s in it? Extra linens? Nope. Off season storage? Nope. Holiday storage? Nope again. Extra shoes? Not even close.

What’s in it is an old Cabbage Patch Kid collection. I love those damn dolls but they were taking up way too much space. I could never sort them, they don’t display well and in general are a rotten thing to collect. Kinda like cars – they just eat up a lot of space when all you ever do is look at them. I started collecting in 2001 right when 80s toys hit the big time again and continued until 2004. I guess it was then that I got over my attempt to recapture parts of my childhood and grew up. But those dolls always remind me to never take life too seriously, there’s lots of fun in it too. I ran out of room and ended up getting rid of a few and putting the rest in the trunk. And that is where they have lived ever since. I’d honestly like to be able to use that trunk for practical storage, but then what do I do with the dolls? I do not want to get rid of them, but I never look at them. So what’s the point of my so called collection besides my fondness for them? I tried taking photos of them in preparation to toss the lot – that didn’t work. I really didn’t want to give them up then. Sigh. Such a dilemma.

Besides that, generally speaking, I hate clutter. Hate it. I think it looks bad. And I’m constantly trying to figure out ways to get rid of all the crap I don’t need. And yet I still have a bunch of stuff that I just love and refuse to give up. I am a collector at heart. And well collections are stuff…even my coin collection takes up space. Not a lot, but some. So I’ve been trying to figure out how to hide everything so I don’t have to look at it anymore. The clutter just drives me to distraction. I hate mess. And I hate messy drawers on top of that so its not like I can just shove everything into some file cabinet and hope it goes away – it never does. I keep thinking about it. And thinking about it.

So what that means is I have been perusing others design inspiration photo albums (like this one or this one) and creating my own. Time consuming so I hope something bites me on the nose. The biggest problem, I fear, is that I have dead collections (a.k.a. that Cabbage Patch Kid collection) that should probably be sold or given away just so that all my clutter is dispensed with for good.

**P.S. I would like to note that “my photo album” is nothing but inspiration for me. I honestly am not trying to steal anyone’s photos so if you ask me to take it down I will, no questions asked. I am just bad at crediting if for no more reason than most of the ones uploaded have fluttered around the interwebs and I don’t know who to actually credit. So please help me if you can!

